oh the fun of shooting children!

The funny thing about this industry is sometimes you can get a reputation without actually earning it. For instance, I am a mother of four beautiful girls. From the time that I found out I had my firstborn in my womb, I’ve owned a SLR and each of my wonderful children have been photographed more times than they care for I am sure. However, when it comes to shooting families, I don’t have an exorbitant amount of experience shooting others. I’ve only stuck to shooting what I know best which is personal/business portraits, weddings or boudoir. But of course, whenever I get the chance, I love to shoot my friends’ kids and families.

So, I write this, not out of a lot of experience but I just wanted to share a fun tip with you as a parent or as a photographer, either will apply!

Last fall, I took some photos of a loooong time friend’s children. I mean, I’ve know Annie since she was 16! She has five beautiful children, four boys and one girl (and she’s only 22, how DOES she do it?). That last part was a joke. Lighten up.
While I was taking photos of her children, it was one of the first times that I’ve gotten to hang out with them. So, as we all know, not all children are comfortable around cameras, much less, new people with a huge lens in their face. So, in order to help her warm up to me, I took several photos of Ava while she made the cutest of faces.

  

So, my tip was not to get frustrated if the child (or children) weren’t responding to you right away. Just give them a little time…

  

And before you know it…

you’ve shot a portrait that can be hung…

Happy Shooting Everyone 🙂

Comments
4 Responses to “oh the fun of shooting children!”
  1. Janice T. Hunter says:

    She is a cute little girl and you did a good job. I liked all of the photo’s you took of them that day.

  2. Jim Raison says:

    Ms Hunter, I love what you call this. I am an aspiring photographer and done some work with families, the kids are great. I have a photostream on flickr “jnc photo enthusiasts” and shows a few. Kid. Take a little patience, but well worth it. Thank-you

  3. Hi Julie,

    I met you at the aperaturent office we discussed photography and marketing. Here I am for a point of reference http://www.tellthetalepictures.com/?page_id=280. Remember me now? Anyway, I am inspired by your website. You are so talented.

    Thank you for the kind words that day and the encouragement.

    Keep up the amazing photos.

    Sincerely,

    Selana

Leave a Reply

