a story of…

a story of hope in the middle of despair.

back in december, a lady approached me about doing a photoshoot with her that would wind up being one of the most awesome concepts ever. she told me that she wanted to do a “trash the dress” shoot but unlike previous shoots she had seen, she wanted it to be more like “DEMOLISH” the dress. you see, her story is different. she had just gotten a divorce after a brief marriage. when I first met her, she was bitter and angry. she had every right to be. I told her about a concept that I had wanted to shoot for some time and she was sold. It was exactly what she wanted and maybe more.

well, winter finally passed and it was getting closer to our shoot date so we decided to meet up face to face and discuss all of the details of the shoot. I could tell during our meal that she had changed since december. I asked how she was doing and she was doing great. so many things were looking up in her life. so, in our shoot, I definitely wanted to reflect this “happy ending” and that divorce didn’t mean that life was over.

I hope you enjoy this series I put together. I had a great time shooting it and I couldn’t have done it without my crew!

Hair & Makeup provided by: dina marie makeup  http://www.dinamariemakeup.com/
Assistance provided by: evan tantum of  http://evantantum.com/

here are some behind the scenes photos that I took on the shoot 🙂 my crew is THE BEST… haha.

 

Comments
34 Responses to “a story of…”
  1. MisplacedBoy says:

    Beautiful! I can relate to all of that…except for the wedding dress :-/

  2. Keir says:

    Great job Lady.

  3. Damn Julie, this is just awesome.. the shots are amazing and the transition of the story is just awesome in the video…

  4. Julie, I wanted to show you some “blog love.” This is AMAZING!!! Love the concept and how everything tied in so well w/ the story. The words written on her body were a brilliant idea and quite powerful. Thanks for the inspiration, and I look forward to seeing more of your work.

  5. Alexis J Lee says:

    love it! great job Julie!

  6. tracy says:

    Powerful!!

  7. David/mexipickle says:

    very creative and well done, by you and your whole crew. I agree…the words on her body were masterful. I particularly like the outcome…the hopefulness instead of hopelessness. Excellent!

  8. David Evans says:

    great story and great pics

  9. Rachel Komlo says:

    This shoot/video exemplifies one of the many reasons you are an amazing photographer and I LOVE working with you 🙂

  10. Dina Marie says:

    Julie…you did such an amazing job. I love it! It was so fun working with you on this shoot…especially when I fell in the water..:)

  11. SD says:

    powerful!!!!!

  12. Denise Kitchen says:

    This is an awesome video. I went through a divorce myself and can identify with the transformation of this woman. I also work with a divorce support group and have witnessed this in other men and women as they begin to heal from one of the deepest wounds we can face as human beings.
    Thanks for seeing and acting on the vision for this great work.

  13. angeleyesphoto says:

    Julie this is amazing!! 🙂

  14. juliehunter says:

    thank you very much! 🙂

  15. Stephanie K says:

    I loved the concept and the photos. Also the song choice was a great fit with the photos!!

  16. This is an amazing shoot. It gives me hope. (And the video has left me in tears.) I hope to be smiling again someday. Right now I feel lonely, betrayed, broken and abandoned.

    • juliehunter says:

      thank you Beki… I am sorry that you’ve experienced this yourself.. there is some healing involved with a shoot like this. I hope that you find yours. I’d love to help if I could.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] juliehunter.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/a-story-of © Julie Hunter […]

  2. […] was on Julie Hunter Photography. I loved this shoot! (However, the amazing video that goes along with it left me sobbing. You […]



Leave a Reply

